I was really looking forward to this weekend which is almost over now. I had a sewing project in mind and yes, stuffed owl. The word in Japanese for owl is fukuro, and it contains the word fuku, luck. So the owl is a symbol for luck. These are great gifts you can give your friends for luck. And they look so adorable anyway. You can use them as pin cushions too.

I used the template from this website. However, I found myself tweaking the template just a tad bit to get a look I want. I like fat owls. 😀 Also I used different fabrics so I must apologise first for the different fabrics you see in the pictures.

I initially planned to make 10 owls but I tweaked the design after the first one so I ended up with 9. I don’t know what to do with them yet. But my sis already said she wanted one. 🙂

Btw this is real fun exercise. Difficulty level is about 1 to 2 out of 5. So if you don’t have much sewing experience, do not fret. This is easy enough! Another tip; I was being ambitious when I found a stack of fabric squares at home but cutting 10 sets of owl templates actually took 3 hours! So, maybe it’s more manageable to cut just 2 or 3 sets. Have fun…

Cut the fabric according to template

Cut fabric. You also need to cut a round cardboard for the bottom.

Here I would suggest sewing the ends 2 or 3 times over to secure the joint. I didn't from the picture here so when I turned the sewn piece inside out, the stitches came loose.

 

Sew the last but which makes the head portion

Sewn piece is turned inside out

Sewing the beak

Stuffing the body

Closing the body

Making the base. I used craft glue instead of light fusible web.

Sew the cardboard base to the bottom of the stuffed owl

Family of 9 owls!

 

 

 

