I gathered a few friends and we are going to ‘UFO-Unfinished Objects’ sewing event this Saturday organised by POPIN, a group of very creative people from a varied background, to sew over gelato. Again, I felt an urge to make this a sewing session to raise fund to help our animal friends who don’t have a voice of their own and are suffering in silence.

It was very timely that Resort Worlds Singapore have 25 dolphins being kept in the Philippines now waiting to be transported to Singapore. I’m sorry I get very emotional about this so I shall not dwell on this topic for too long but for more information, you can watch The Cove, or The Cove FB page or visit www.saddestdolphins.com. Anyway I wanted to take the opportunity on Saturday to sew something to help the dolphins. Our last sewing-charity event was a success, at least to ourselves. And I think it makes alot of sense to continue the effort. I then asked my friends if they are keen to join me to SEW FOR DOLPHINS, they all agreed immediately!

I thought I’d make a prototype as this is my first time handling thick felt and I wasn’t sure if I can get the shape I wanted. There were some learnings from our previous session and I thought this time, it has to be something fairly quick, fun and easy to make. It allows for a certain degree of creativity so it’s up to how the crafters want to add their personal touch.

Here it is… I will be updating this blog again on Saturday on how our sewing went.

Please… free the dolphins.

Dolphin Ribbon Badge - made with stud closure so you can hang it on your bag or car rear mirror or ANYWHERE!

