I’ve been busy sketching and planning for an upcoming ‘Sew for HRSS (House Rabbit Society of Singapore)’ event. The basic requirement is to be able to hand sew the stuffed toy. As we will eventually be handing the stuff rabbits to HRSS to sell them during their fund-raising roadshows, I had to make sure that the stuff toys aren’t too time-consuming to make or we won’t get too many completed during our 4-5hour sewing session this coming sat.

I’ve also had some sewing inquiries, people are keen but also apprehensive on whether they can sew or not. Well, I thought I should document how it’s done for everyone’s benefit so they aren’t too nervous. I started sewing yesterday and I think I got abit hooked on making them. Really, it’s not that hard! Just come and we’ll help each other along!

Place the template onto the fabric (right sides facing each other), using pins to hold the template and fabric. You can choose to cut out the fabric now or use a pencil to trace the outline. I prefer tracing then removing the template so I can cut the shape out properly.

Fabric cut into shape.

Using either running stitch or back stitch to sew the pieces together. I used running stitches and sew the pieces from start to end point and back to start point again. Running stitch is not as secure, hence I doit twice. Remember to leave a small gap for stuffing!

Back and running stitches

Flip the sewn fabric inside out, making sure to push the edges out before you start stuffing.I used a pair of forceps to stuff the rabbit.

Closing the hole once you are happy with the amount of stuffing.

I sewn one of the ear down, just for fun… 😉

Next, cut a small oval felt. I then used embroidery thread to sew the eyes.

Using the same thread, I stitched the face onto the body.

The front is done!

I found some teeny poms poms and decided to sew one on as the tail.

Pom pom tail… adorable!

Bunny friends – Front view

Bunny friends – Front view

Using the same steps, I made a few more. It got really fun when I started playing with different colours and eyes.

